aurora network logo

Who We Are

General Council and Board

Aurora has a general council which consists of the rectors/presidents of the Aurora universities – or their formal representatives. The general council meets twice a year. Around these statutory meetings, the more encompassing Aurora Biannual meetings have evolved.

Alongside the general council, the aurora universities Network has a board of three rectors and presidents who are charged with the management of the association. Since October 2019 the board composition is:

  • UEA President David Richardson, Aurora President
  • VU Amsterdam President Mirjam van Praag, member
  • U Iceland rector Jón Atli Benediktsson, member

Aurora Coordinators

Institutional coordinators

Aurora also works closely with its coordinators who are the oil to keep the Aurora engine working. Aurora coordinators consist of Institutional coordinators and Communication officers.

Each Aurora university has an “institutional coordinator” who monitors the Aurora activities in their own institution as well as in the network. At some universities, this role is shared.

Communication officers

Aurora has a dedicated communications officer at each member. The group of Aurora communications officers is chaired by University of Iceland communications’ director Jón Örn Guðbjartsson (


Aurora office

The Aurora network is supported by a small central office consisting of 3 part time collaborators:

President's perspective

Aurora members

View our members